Executive Committee

Marilyn Strauss

Marilyn Strauss was a former Broadway producer who co-produced five plays, earning a Tony award for the Irish drama Da, an Off-Broadway award (Obie) for Getting Out, and a Tony nomination for the musical Pump Boys and Dinettes.

While residing in NYC for ten years, she traveled through Europe and Asia, lecturing on American plays and theater producing. Ms. Strauss returned to Kansas City at the urging of a fellow producer, the legendary Joseph Papp, founder of the New York Shakespeare Festival. He gave her the mission to have her home town join the ranks of the 120 cities with Shakespeare festivals in North America. Ms. Strauss first started a support club, and refusing recompense, worked full time to create the only Shakespeare Festival in a three state area. After six years as Artistic Executive Director, and, experiencing the deep satisfaction of the public’s embrace of the plays in the park, she turned the reins over to two talented and capable Artistic and Executive directors. Ms. Strauss passed away September 15, 2018. We will miss her light, but we will continue to build upon her vision and her dream.

TJ Lynn

Scott Ashcraft, M.D.

Allan S. Gray II
Vice-President of Community Engagement

Gabe Egli

Patricia Davison
Immediate Past President

Dan Bukovac
Past President

Shirley Bush Helzberg
Past President

Bill Ye

Lisa Wendelburg
Vice-President of Education

Michael Cline

Linda Word
Past President

Don Dagenais
Past President

R. Crosby Kemper III
Past President


Michael Abrams
Chris Bannister
Barb Bloch
Deanna Diebolt
Beverly Elving
Paul Gutierrez

Karen Holland
Tom Mentzer
Bryan Palmer
Michael Smoots
Jonathan Staton
Cindy Pratt-Stokes

Advisory Board

Bernadette Ashcraft
Don Dagenais, Past President
Mary Earls
Carol Kane
John Kornitzer
Lauren Muriel-Marion LaPointe
Sherrill Mulhern

Susan Porter, M.D.
Kelly Privitera
Joe Privitera
Anita Porte Robb
Anna Marie Tutera
Paul Uhlmann III
Blake Wendelburg, M.D.